Aged Care Standards – What Do They Mean for You?

As of 1 July 2019, organisations providing commonwealth subsidised aged care services, including home care providers, are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards. What are aged care standards, and what do they mean for you?

About Aged Care Standards

The aged care standards have been introduced to make sure you’re receiving the best care possible. There are eight standards that organisations or providers must meet. Each standard outlines what good care should look like. The standards also make it easier to check that people are receiving good, quality care. The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission is responsible for assessing and monitoring the service provider’s performance. This is done by way of periodic audits, collecting evidence, reviewing documented procedures, observing practices, talking to consumers, and examining consumer records, including incident reports, care plans and complaints registers.

What are the Quality Standards, and what do they mean for you?

The Quality Standards are made up of the following eight individual standards:

  1. Consumer dignity and choice.

This means that you will be treated with respect and dignity to maintain your identity. You have the right to choose your care and the way your services are delivered, so you can live the life you choose.

  1. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers.

This means that you are included as a partner in the assessment and planning of your care. This ensures you receive the care and services you need to achieve the best outcomes for your health and wellbeing.

  1. Personal care and clinical care.

This means that you will receive personal care, clinical care, or both, that is delivered safely. Care is to be tailored to suit your needs to maximise your health and wellbeing.

  1. Services and supports for daily living.

This means that you will receive services and supports for daily living. The services and supports enable you to do the things you want to do, and are important for your health and wellbeing.

  1. Organisation’s service environment.

This means that you should feel welcome, safe and comfortable in the provider’s environment. You should feel a sense of belonging to encourage your interaction and involvement.

  1. Feedback and complaints.

This means that you will feel supported and safe to provide feedback or make complaints to the organisation or provider. You are engaged in the processes addressing your feedback and complaints, and feel that appropriate action is being taken.

  1. Human resources.

This means that you will receive quality care and services when you need them, from people who are knowledgeable, capable and caring.

  1. Organisational governance.

This means that you feel confident that the organisation is well managed and run properly. You are supported to feel you can partner in improving the delivery of care and services.

Simply Helping